Illinois college media win national journalism awards


Illinois college media excelled at the national collegiate journalism convention, winning more than 20 awards for exceptional journalism last weekend in Austin, Texas.


Columbia College

Three Illinois schools earned ACP Pacemakers in the four-year college non-daily division – The Columbia Chronicle (Columbia College), F News Magazine (School of the Art Institute of Chicago), and the Chicago Maroon (University of Chicago). The Pacemaker, sometimes called college journalism’s Pulitzer Prize, is earned for consistently solid coverage across a full year.

Two schools were finalists in the Pacemaker’s four-year daily newspaper division – Northern Star (Northern Illinois University) and Daily Northwestern (Northwestern).

Eastern Illinois University’s earned a Pacemaker in the online division for four-year dailies, while the University of Illinois’s earned one in the ‘other’ category. The was a finalist in the four-year daily online division while the Columbia Chronicle Online was a finalist in the four-year non-daily online division.


F News Magazine

Knox College’s Catch, which earned third-place in best of show among literary magazines, was also a finalist in the Pacemaker division for four-year lit mags.

Illio (U of Illinois) won a Pacemaker in the yearbook category.

Illinois schools dominated the new media category. The Northern Star staff took first in the multimedia package division, while the Chicago Maroon staff took third.

The Columbia Chronicle’s Lenny Gilmore took third for best environmental portrait in the photography competition. Chris Salata of the Chicago Maroon earned an honorable mention in the picture story category.

Four Illinois student won awards in the design competition. Thomas Pardee of the Columbia Chronicle took first for the best page 1 design while the Daily Illini’s Kara Beach earned an honorable mention. For best yearbook/magazine spread,  Kate Lamy earned an honorable mention for a design in the Buzz, the arts supplement to the Daily Illini. In addition, Columbia Chronicle’s Dana LaCoco took third for best newsmagazine cover.

Two F newsmagazine artists swept the top spots for the editorial cartoon category. Alexandra Westrich and Eric Garcia took fort and second, respectively.

The staff for Buzz took second for best ad/editorial supplement, while Lauren Murphy took first for best brochure/rate card.



Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: